Author Topic: Shorter, enough draw weight, durable, Red Oak board bow specs........  (Read 7931 times)

Offline southern shooter

Hi Folks. 

I am still rather new to bow building.  And, in an earlier thread ( http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,18116.0.html ) conceded to building some bendy type longbows until I develop enough bowyer skill...BUT, in the mean time, I have been eyeing two red oak boards that are standing in the corner.  They are .75" X 2.5" X 72" with pretty good grain patterns.  Anyway, while I work on these other bows, I just want to satisfy my curiousity before it drives me crazy...ha ha.

My question:  I would like to build a bow about my height...65" tall...or less if possible...that I can get through the woods without a major struggle.  With the boards that I have mentioned here ( .75" X 2.5" X 72" ), what bow design/specs would ya'll recommend for a rugged, durable hunting bow??  My draw length is about 26".  Lets keep the minimum draw weight to about 45# and the maximum to about 55#.  Is this an unrealistic expectation with red oak of that length and width?

Thanks 
« Last Edit: March 10, 2010, 11:11:11 am by southern shooter »

Offline youngbowyer33

Re: Shorter, enough draw weight, durable, Red Oak board bow specs........
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2010, 09:58:29 am »
I think you could make it work. I'd do a 62-64" pyramid style bow 2 or 2.5" wide at the fades tapering down to a bit more than 3/8".good luck
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us"

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2010, 10:47:57 am »