Author Topic: File / Rasp which one  (Read 4588 times)

Offline coyote1956

File / Rasp which one
« on: April 05, 2010, 09:52:21 pm »
Please help me choose,  I am new at this and want to get the correct tools that you experianced guys go to..........  Ok I hear  that the Nicholson #49 and #50 pattern makers file is the go to files of choice, Ok now if you had to have just one of them, which would it be the #49 less teeth ruffer cut, or the #50 more teeth smoother cut?    Or,,,   is there a better number one choice file/rasp ?   I will be building Osage Bows, and need all the help i can get!!!  I have to make the correct choice in tools as money is a factor. 
Thank You very much for any and all help/advice/comments,  Ken
“A peculiar virtue in wildlife ethics is that the hunter ordinarily has no gallery to applaud or disapprove of his conduct. The ethics of sportsmanship is not a fixed code, but must be formulated by the individual, with no referee but the Almighty.” Aldo Leupold

Old Town, FL.

Offline sailordad

Re: File / Rasp which one
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 10:32:29 pm »
i like my sureform
it hogs off like a rasp,handles like a plane,and can be as delicate as a scraper once you learn to use them
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline aero86

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 10:36:14 pm »
i have to agree with sailordad.  to build my bows, i need either a hatchet for tree staves, or a jig saw for board staves and a sureform.  works great
profsaffel  "clogs like the devil" I always figured Lucifer to be more of a disco kind of guy.

Offline Timo

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 10:48:19 pm »
UBR 10! ;) Best I ever put my hands on.

Offline Frode

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 11:33:11 pm »