Author Topic: first R/d bow how does this tiller look?  (Read 51456 times)

Offline Jesse

first R/d bow how does this tiller look?
« on: March 25, 2007, 11:56:43 pm »
First one. I need a little advice on this tiller. The bow is boo backed ipe it is r/d style it pulls 55 lbs. @ 27 ".  It shoots very fast. I am going to put a finish on it soon if the tiller doesnt need to change. What should I use? I have water based spar urathane. Will that work good? Any input welcome   
« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 12:29:18 am by WIBOWYER »
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

330bull

Re: first R/d bow how does this tiller look?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2007, 01:58:33 am »
Well I'm a novice too but here's what I see:

Tiller is even, so that's a good start.  However it also looks like the only the first half of the limb is working.  More specifically it looks like the only part of the limb working is the first half as it leave the handle section.  It appears that you need to have most of the limb bending up until ~6-8" to each tip.

I'm afraid that if you do not improve the tiller, that part of the limb which is working the most, will eventually fail or weaken.  However I also just noticed this is a r/d design, so maybe that's all you want to bend anyway.  If that's really a r/d design, then it is probably already bending near the ends pretty well.

Just my two cents.  It's always so much easier for someone else to critique, so please don't take it personally.  Like I said, I'm a novice at best.  Good Luck!

Joe

Offline Gordon

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2007, 03:10:37 am »
I would need to see the unbraced profile before I could render an opinon.
Gordon

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2007, 03:26:16 am »
Ditto, what Gordon says but generally i would say that tiller is good for an r/d bow, I like my tips stiff anyway. Steve

Minuteman

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2007, 09:00:56 am »