Author Topic: hickory backed black walnut  (Read 4648 times)

Offline ken75

• crepe myrtle is my "yella wood"
hickory backed black walnut
« on: May 20, 2010, 11:36:28 pm »
heres one i did this week hickory backed black walnut 62 tpt 1 3/4 wide at fades 53 lbs at 28 . had some issues early with delamination but i called a master bowyer friend and interupted his supper and got the scoop on what i was doing wrong . nice to have knowledge a phone call away . thanks to all for looking

[attachment deleted by admin]

half eye

Re: hickory backed black walnut
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 11:41:09 pm »
Damn Ken, ya got to change that saying on your posts.....that bow is a classic...everything looks good and the profile qualifies as down right sexy. Got to love them American flat bows.
Rich

Offline ken75

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 11:45:35 pm »
rich i tried the other day ,cant figure how to change it . guess im stuck with it

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2010, 01:16:15 pm »
Got your 3rd bow also bookmarked for May Laminates ! Very nice...
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 01:12:19 pm »
nice bow, how does it shoot? how does the walnut work with the hickory??
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline NTProf

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2010, 01:43:28 pm »
Is it made from a board? Very nice!!

Offline tdog

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2010, 02:28:27 pm »
Very nice! The tiller looks perfect. What glue did you use?
It doesn't matter how or what you shoot, as long as you hit your target.

Mark(Wetumpka,AL)

Offline ken75

« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2010, 09:24:51 pm »