Author Topic: Sinewed cedar bow  (Read 29027 times)

Offline Gordon

Re: Sinewed cedar bow
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2007, 01:03:42 pm »
That sure is a pretty bow.
Gordon

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2007, 01:40:42 pm »
That is neat bow.  Got you bookmarked for April Self Bow of the Month.  Being several years old and still looking that good is pretty good validation of a good bow.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

duffontap

« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2007, 02:16:12 pm »
Nice bow.  I love the idea of using softwoods for bows.  I'm a Yew guy but I've always wanted to try ERC and Juniper.  I've built a couple bows from WRC but that was an exercise in futility.   :P

J. D. Duff

Offline ben

« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2007, 05:32:42 pm »
Absolutely gorgeous! Whats the linb width on that thing? Im currently working on a 62" ERC flatbow thats going to sinewed as well. Mine is all heartwood but there are these cool little patches of sapwood in it. 

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2007, 07:55:13 pm »
She's a beauty, Ron. Nice job. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2007, 09:04:40 pm »
Ben ( and everybody else), Here's my two cents worth in reply to all of your replies.
This bow is 1.25 " wide at the handle and 2.25" wide just past the fade outs. 
One layer of sinew is working well on this bow, but I'm sure many other backings have been used.  I've used hickory on two bows.  They both shoot well, but one took greater set than I would like.  I've never heard of using silk on juniper, but why not?  One of the recent posts had bamboo backed juniper (collected in Utah, species not noted) bow that really smokes.