Author Topic: cutting staves  (Read 2373 times)

Offline SA

cutting staves
« on: May 27, 2010, 01:22:14 am »
Hi all, I am new to bow making (already addicted) I work as a land surveyor in okla. and run into all kinds of good bow wood osage,honey locust,mullberry,etc. my question is  can you cut any time of year or just in the winter ,and would it effect dry time? I have been finding down trees to use ( my fist two elm bow atemts broke)now i am working a red oak board but i would like to take advantage of all the quality stuff i come across.   thanks, sa.
Shawn Acker

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: cutting staves
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2010, 01:34:33 am »
Be careful of any whitewoods that have been down for as little as a week. Rot will set in and ruin the integrity of the wood. You can cut bow wood any time you get a hankering too. Most like the winter because of less snakes, bugs and sweat but any time it is available is the appropriate time to cut bow wood.  ;) Osage heartwood is rot resistant so I wouldn't hesitate to make bows with downed trees.  Maybe mulberry too but I'm not sure about honey locust.
 If it is fresh cut wood, only a day or two down, the whitewoods like elm, hickory, hop hornbeam should be OK.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline AncientArcher76

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 01:42:49 am »
There are better times of the year to cut but there is no time better to cut good wood when its available!  In ur profession I bet u get to see some mighty fine trees/ possible staves.  During my turkey hunting I walked past a real nice elm and saw 2 nice HHB trees that are about 15" in diameter and straight with no knots til around 30'  also I went fishing the other day and I turn to look at a cluster of Honey Locust all 6-10" saplings.... maybe the bow gods are trying to say something! ;)

Welcome aboard!

Russell