Author Topic: Schöningen Spear Replication Project - all stone tools  (Read 17108 times)

Offline Dane

Schöningen Spear Replication Project - all stone tools
« on: July 04, 2010, 10:42:57 am »
Schöningen Spear Replication Project

Please be advised that this is only a quick report to share what I learned in my first foray into stone technology. Later, I will repost a much better and more detailed report, along with testing results. But for now, enjoy.

This is my first attempt at an all stone tool project. Someone posted a link to an article about four 400,000 year old hunting spears found in Germany in 1995. http://www.schoeningerspeere.de/ is a link to the official website. You can actually scroll along to see one of the four spears in its entirety. What I am hoping to find later is exact dimensions of the spear, particularly the diameter of the distal and proximal ends. (note, using Google, you can hit translate from the site’s German to English, not perfect, but enough to understand the site if your German is as rudimentary as mine is).

However, I had enough data to see if I could replicate one of the spears. I decided to make it about 7’ long. The archeologists feel that three of the four spears found at the site were throwing spears and not just thrusting spears.

The people who made these spears were Homo heidelbergensis, from the Middle Pleistocene period. http://www.archaeologyinfo.com/homoheidelbergensis.htm. These guys were the ancestors of both Neanderthal and Homo Sapiens (both us). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homo_heidelbergensis.