Author Topic: Need help Id'ing some logs  (Read 14692 times)

Offline Jbell

Need help Id'ing some logs
« on: April 15, 2007, 10:30:08 pm »
My dad works for IDOT and occasionally they clear trees near roads and such, well he brought these home for firewood. I was just wondering what you guys think they are. I have been to a couple of tree id sites but just can't figure it out cause of only having bark to go by. Pretty sure the one on the far right is Hackberry but that is about it. Justin

[attachment deleted by admin]
Justin Blunt

Offline Agbowyer

Re: Need help Id'ing some logs
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2007, 10:50:57 pm »
I'm no expert, but I think in the last pic from left: Hackberry, Hickory or pecan, Pine, Oak and oak.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2007, 11:18:32 pm »
The only thing I know for sure is they would make better bows than fires.  ;) Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline D. Tiller

• Go ahead! Bend that stick! Make my day!!!
    • Whidbey Island Soap Co.
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2007, 12:10:40 am »
Hmmmm! Wood, wood, wood and wood! I know wood when I see it!!!  ;D
“People are less likely to shoot at you if you smile at them” - Mad Jack Churchill

Offline Jbell

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2007, 12:14:03 am »
The middle log is pretty light, pretty sure it is Pine. The two on the right that Agbower says maybe Oak has a pretty large heart wood and a few rings of sapwood, I thought Oak was mostly sapwood? Really wish I had some leaves to help me out here. ???
Justin Blunt

Offline Jbell

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2007, 12:17:46 am »
Hey thanks tiller, GOT WOOD!  :o
Justin Blunt

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2007, 12:33:41 am »
If that is pine, you can smell it. Looks like cherry to me. The first 2 could be hickory. The hack berry(sugar Berry) has corky protrusions on the bark.    Pat