Author Topic: snakeskin backing elmers vs titebond 3  (Read 9082 times)

Offline straightarrow

• "Success or failure, neither are final"
snakeskin backing elmers vs titebond 3
« on: September 01, 2010, 01:44:01 pm »
I am fairly new to Primitive archery and have made six bows. I am working on my seventh and I am eager to try backing with snake skins. In July I bought some western diamond back skins from a guy at Dentin Hill named Gary Davis. I spoke with him for quite awhile about bow building and applying snake skins. It was suggested by him to use Elmers Glue. Since then I have read several articles about applying skins, but have yet to see anyone mention Elmers. It worries me a bit that Elmers is reversible with water. On the bows Gary showed me (which were beautiful) he used Tung Oil in which he had dipped the entire limb. My thought was if that would make it waterproof enough to prevent the skins from eventually lifting. My thoughts were along the lines of using Titebond 3. I am looking for opinions if anyone would like too....What glue do you guys use?? Maybe Titebond or Elmers isn't the answer??

Thanks guys.....Jon

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
Re: snakeskin backing elmers vs titebond 3
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2010, 01:52:27 pm »
I used titebond on mine.  Haven't had a problem with it at all.  Elmers will probably work since the snakeskin makes a waterproof backing anyways.  I would just be worried about the edges coming up.   :)
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline profsaffel

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 04:46:25 pm »
Gary knows what he is doing, so if he says it'll work, it will. The 'secret' though, is if you follow the rest of his instructions exactly, mainly making the bow very water resistant with poly, spar, tung oil, whatever. Then, it shouldn't matter about the glue.
Professor of History, Student of Bowyery

Offline adb