Author Topic: Sealing Stave Ends  (Read 9174 times)

Bob S.

Sealing Stave Ends
« on: April 17, 2007, 03:35:18 pm »
I apologise in advance for all the stupid questions, I'm new at this. Bow making that is, not stupid questions.  ;D  Anyway, I know that you have to seal the ends of a fresh stave to prevent checking and that most people use paint. I've also read that duct tape works. Any opinions?

Offline DanaM

Re: Sealing Stave Ends
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 03:47:44 pm »
Glue, shellac, varnish I don't think paint is the best choice

DanaM
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 03:51:23 pm »
I like a thick coat of cheap glue, spray-on shellac works well, too. Anything that keeps moisture from leaving the wood at a high rate of speed will work.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2007, 03:55:36 pm »
Welcome again, Bob. Glad to see you are not shy. I prefer shellac in a spray can because it is quick and easy. A little bit more costly than brush on shellac but longer shelf life. Theoretically duct tape would work but as it dries it curls and would allow air infiltration and possibly cause checking. What you are trying to do is to totally seal the ends(and back if bark is removed) so any moisture loss would occur along the split side(s) where it is less apt to check and most of that wood will be removed anyway.   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2007, 05:28:08 pm »