Author Topic: never again  (Read 7246 times)

Offline billmac

never again
« on: April 28, 2007, 10:50:48 pm »
unless I'm desperate.  Never again will I cut a tree for bow staves in the winter.  I cut an elm last week and a red oak this morning.  The elm yielded 8 staves and the oak yielded 13 nice staves.  It took less time to debark all 21 staves today than to debark one winter-cut ash stave.

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
Re: never again
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 10:04:30 am »
I tried that with a Hickory stave, it took several hours. Then I cut a cedar tree and that took about 2 min. two debark the two staves. I'm a believer! ;D
      Sean
Dallas/Fort Worth Tx.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2007, 12:00:16 pm »
Never say never! ;)    Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2007, 01:45:29 pm »
I do think that bark adheres differently to different woods.  Advantage of leaving the bark on is that it controls drying and avoids checking.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Trapper

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2007, 06:27:46 pm »
The absolute best time to cut any bowwood is in Aug. or Sept. bar none I cut some hickory 2weeks ago and the bark peeled right off, but its plum full of sap and will check on you. If you wanna ruin good osage cut it now and see what happens, I found all this stuff out the hard way. In late Aug. the bark will still peel good and it wont check , cause the sap is already down.        Trapper

Offline waterlogged

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2007, 05:00:26 am »