Author Topic: Another Lurker comes out of the woodwork  (Read 6014 times)

Bobby

Another Lurker comes out of the woodwork
« on: April 29, 2007, 12:00:22 pm »
Another Lurker here,

I finally started my first bow this week. Yesterday I got the bow shaped out. It's 74" inches long, I know its long but I need at least a 31" draw, and I heard that a longer bow is more forgiving for mistakes. The limbs are 1 1/2" at the handles to mid limb then I tapered them to 3/4 wide at the tips. My question is how thick should the limbs be. Right now they are a little over 3/4" thick. I was thinking about roughing them in at 3/4 and fadding it to 3/8 at the tips. Does this sound about right? I know I might not be using the right terms but I this is my first attempt. Oh and the bow is Bois d arc. I know this is not a good wood to start with, but where I live at in Texas all there is Bois d arc, Cedar and Locust, I don't think it is Black Locust it looks like 2/3 of the trunk is pulp and the center 1/3 is heart wood. It looks like it would take a massive tree to get any staves out of it.

Thanks in advance, Lurking for the past few weeks I have gathered the motivation to start this project.

BJ
Texas

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Another Lurker comes out of the woodwork
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 12:18:23 pm »
First of all, osage is an excellant starter bow wood. For most folks it is not readily available and too expensive as a starter wood. For you, that's not the case so go for it.
   Your bow is a bit long but will work out fine for you. If you come out light you can shorten it to increase the final weight.