Author Topic: bow wood  (Read 7988 times)

Offline terence pinder

bow wood
« on: April 29, 2007, 12:02:20 pm »
hi everyone, im a total newbie and have just finished reading all 3 tbb. in my area in saskatchewan poplar trees are abundant but i dont ever recall reading about them. i do have access to birch and maple, would these be better bow woods than poplar? ???

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: bow wood
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 12:10:17 pm »
Hard(sugar) maple and birch would be better than poplar for bows. All would be good for arrows!   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2007, 02:10:48 pm »
...Terence....Poplar will make decent huntin' bows BUt they have to be wide and long to releive the stress on the wood. Made a few in the past. Huntin' bows are different than "archery " bows. That said Rock Maple (sugar) would be easier to do as Pat said. Whatever you decide good luck and show or post, lots of help here on this forum............bob

Offline terence pinder

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2007, 10:44:29 pm »
thanks guys. the maple trees in my area arent sugar maple im not quite sure what kind they are? ill have to look into it. but how long and how wide would you suggest for the poplar? and one last question what is the difference between a huntin bow and and an archery bow?

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2007, 11:18:52 pm »