Author Topic: Knife question  (Read 5061 times)

Offline Frode

Knife question
« on: November 26, 2010, 02:00:53 pm »
Hi all,
Hope this isn't the wrong place to start...
I've been enjoying learning the bow making process for just over a year now, learning about rasps, and shaves, and whatnot, but when it comes to knives, I'm a complete noob.  I slept through that part of Scouts.  The best pocket knife I had was a company logo freebee about as long as the last two joints on your little finger, locking blade, good edge, just right for splinters, sharpening pencils, etc.  Kept in on my key ring, hardly knew it was there, and, of course, ended up donating it to the TSA.

So now that I'm actually working with wood, I'm wondering, what type of knife would be good for general use.  Small enough to carry (I don't need a great whacking bush knife), but tough enough for a little carving, and other daily uses.  Folding? Not?  Type?  I'm not necessarily looking for brands (don't want to violate the advertisers rules  ;)), unless someone wants to PM me, more for types or styles, and maybe how you use them.  Pics are always good, too.
A really, really noob question, I know, but admitting you're a city kid is the first step on the road to recovery, right?  ;D
Thanks,
Frode
If it doesn't rap the lintel, it might not be a longbow.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Knife question
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2010, 09:11:38 pm »
If you cabn find a Shrade Old Timer they are great little jack knives. Usually 2 blades and excellent carbon steel. They used to come in sizes from a small pen knife up to about a 4" handle folded up. Still not too big. Another all around good knife is a sod buster. More utilitarian than beautiful.
  Try to find a knife with good carbon blades. They sharpen easier, stay sharp and if you use it it won't rust.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Frode