Author Topic: longbow or recurve?  (Read 6128 times)

Offline archerforlife2

longbow or recurve?
« on: November 30, 2010, 12:30:58 am »
hey everybody i am new to the website and i was wondering what in your opinion is better re-curve or longbow?
i have been shooting a compound instinctively for the last three years and recently decided i didnt like the feel of the bow i have always wanted to go traditional. thanks everybody for opinions
Everbody dies but not everybody lives

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: longbow or recurve?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 12:41:31 am »
I like both and go through phases with each. My hunting bow this year is a 60" osage static recurve but my next bow will be a straight limb bow. I like them all!
  Your best bet is to try as many different bows as possible and see what fits you best. Also, expect them all to be SLOW compared with your compound.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline archerforlife2

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 12:55:51 am »
okay thanks i am thinking about getting a Greatree Solo Deluxe longbow 68" 55# if i do get it it will probably be about march and how much slower would a 55lbs longbow be slower than a 50lbs compound?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 01:10:48 am »
A 55# long bow will probably shoot between 150fps to 180fps.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline sailordad

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2010, 01:39:36 am »
im like Pat
i like both
right now i shoot a flat limb bow
the one i am currently making is flat limb with 1.5"reflex at the handle
the next is gonna be a static recurve

a trad style bow is gonna be much slower compared to the modern high tech training wheel bows
they got them contraptions shooting over 400' per second now
but there aint nothing wrong with shooting critters with bows that shoot 150' per second,dead is dead  ;)