Author Topic: Help with fixing a Bow  (Read 17325 times)

Offline Tanis

• G.P. Sports
Help with fixing a Bow
« on: January 08, 2011, 12:52:13 am »
A friend of mine gave me this bow after his dad passed away because he knew I wanted to get into bows. I'm a true beginner, I have a lesson on shooting on Monday.
This bow is made out of fiberglass and is splintering in one spot. I took it to the local Archery shop and they said I could use a flexible fiberglass resin of some sort just to
keep it from splintering any more.

He did not tell me what kind or where to get it. Just wondering if anyone knows what I can use on this and how to go about fixing it?

I attached some pictures but they are pretty hard to see due to the color of the bow and the lighting.

Thank you!

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
Re: Help with fixing a Bow
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2011, 04:40:25 am »
Hi Tanis,  Most of the folks on this site are really into wooden bows.  Fiberglass is not quite a swear word here, but some will claim it is.  So folks here just don't have a lot of experience with making or repairing fiberglass bows.   Your bow has a history and I'd like to help, but I'm one of those with no experience making fiberglass bows.  You might do better asking the same question on another forum. 
I do now there are a couple of brands of 2 part epoxy resin, sold for making bows.  At least one of them requires a hot box to cure properly and wouldn't be appropriate.  I would think that a two part epoxy that cured at room temp should work to cover and smooth small nicks.
Ron
"A man should make his own arrows."   Omaha proverb   

"There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves."    Will Rogers

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2011, 10:03:28 am »
Bows like yours have little value and aren't worth the efort to repair, just an honest opinon.