Author Topic: scouting stalking help please.  (Read 6781 times)

Offline 65x55 swedis

scouting stalking help please.
« on: January 23, 2011, 02:24:57 am »
i am new to hunting with a bow all i have done is squirrel and have had no luck. but i was wondering if there was a way that i could practice on normal animals like pets or squirrels. any tips or hints are appreciated. will take pics of anything i can

Offline iowabow

Re: scouting stalking help please.
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 06:40:33 am »
With deer season gone it would be a good time to take photos. Find an area like a park or woods that has public access and practice getting close with the camera to take pictures. Try this with deer . First check the wind direction make sure you are down wind second move toward the animal only when it is eatting or looking another direction or when it is moving. Never move toward a deer when its ears are aimed in your direction. If it is available use terrain to conceal you location. Try to place a large tree between you and the animal as you walk up or pick a path that has the lowest elevation. sometimes I have walk up on deer in the morning by placing the sun at my back so the deer has to look into to the sun and is blinded and this works during sunset also.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2011, 11:32:03 am by iowabow »
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

Offline sailordad

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 10:32:54 am »
iowabow has good advise
only thing i would add would be wear natural colors,stick to the shaddows as much as possible too
oh and practice practice practice

i do photo safaris just for fun in the summer months,helps when it comes to hunting season
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2011, 11:41:36 pm »