Author Topic: juniper questions  (Read 6501 times)

Offline okie64

juniper questions
« on: May 23, 2011, 01:10:17 am »
A friend of mine sent me some juniper staves from Idaho.  I've never worked with juniper before so I was wandering what would be the best style of bow to make from them. They're all 70" long and have a few knots in them. Do they need to be backed with sinew or rawhide or will they hold up in tension unbacked? The bark peeled off pretty easy since they're pretty green. Can the sapwood under the bark be the back or do I need to work it down closer to the heartwood?  Any input is appreciated. The three long ones in the middle are the  juniper.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 10:04:14 am by okie64 »

Offline sailordad

Re: juniper questions
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2011, 02:57:35 am »
ive seen some NA artifact bows in a museum
these were all of juniper and paddle style
all had a couple layers of sinew
curator said they had no more than 2 layers each
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2011, 12:05:11 pm »
Juniper works great as a self bow.  It's much better in compression than tension so it lends itself to a rounded belly longbow design, like yew.  When finished, it will look thicker than it needs to be so make sure you don't remove too much wood in the beginning.

You can use the wood just under the bark for the back or you can decrown it.  Works fine either way. If you flip it around and use the heart wood for the back you will need to back it with something.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.
How to Cook It?  200° for 24hrs then 275° to 500° for 4hrs (depending on type), Cool for 12hr

Offline okie64