Author Topic: Maple Board Trade Bow (Was Finished... Now it's pretty firewood!)  (Read 9360 times)

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
I started tillering what I was hoping to be my trade bow tonight, but I don't think that it's going to make weight.  I might have made a rookie mistake and taken too much wood off before tillering... oh wait, I am a rookie :)

Right now it's at 30 lbs at 22 inches, and just starting to take some set. I want to get the limbs bending a tad more about 2/3 of the way out.  Do I have any hope of making 45 lbs? I think this one is going to have to be for my sister  :P

« Last Edit: June 07, 2011, 10:25:16 pm by Cameroo »

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: Maple Board Bow
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 07:40:25 am »
Looking pretty good,what draw length are you going for ? You will usually pick up 2 to 3 lbs. per inch of draw,so if you are going for 28 it would be close if you don't have any more problems,also you
could heat treat the belly and flip the tips a bit and pick up several lbs. It is is long enough you could pike it an inch or 2 also. I have also learned over the years to get the limbs bending even but not try and get it to close before I get them to a short brace. That gives me some wood to work with.You might make it,the only way to find out is give it a go. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Elktracker

• Josh
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 07:06:50 pm »
Looks like its coming allong good, Pappy nailed it ;D
my friends think my shops a mess, my wife thinks I have too much bow wood, my neighbors think im redneck white trash and they may all be right on the money!!

Josh Vance  Netarts OR. (Tillamook)

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 08:06:58 pm »