Author Topic: String making  (Read 9537 times)

Offline SjWhite

String making
« on: June 10, 2011, 12:12:56 am »
Hello all,

I'm new to making bows, and I do not know how to make a good quality string.

I would be very greatful if you would tell me what you do, or if you just buy yours online.

Thank You for your time.
If an archer shoots just for fun, he has all his skill.
If he shoots for score, his hands tremble,
and his breath is uneasy.
If he shoots for a golden prize he becomes mad and blind.
His skill was not lessened, but the vision of the target changed him.

Offline sailordad

Re: String making
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 01:50:29 am »
i googled and found this

http://poorfolkbows.com/flemish1.htm
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline Lee Slikkers

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 12:17:05 pm »
SailorDad has the best link if you don't care for U-tube (which I don't)...I had never made strings before and built that jig a few days ago...followed the tutorial of that site and now have about 14 new strings made up.  I did them one after another, some for kids bows some for my bows and they all turned out great.  Good luck and just jump in...not sure why I was so reluctant to try and learn, it really is easier than it looks.

~ Lee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The last word in ignorance is the man who says of an animal or plant: 'What good is it?"
— Aldo Leopold
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Offline Polar Bear

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2011, 12:58:38 pm »
Ditto on poorfolksbows.  I have them bookmarked. 
When we do right no one remembers, when we do wrong no one forgets.

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2011, 01:00:15 pm »
that's how I learned!  For the price of ONE string you can buy a roll of string making material to make 10-15 strings of your own.