Author Topic: 72lb Wytch elm bow  (Read 5500 times)

Offline keef

72lb Wytch elm bow
« on: June 13, 2011, 04:38:23 pm »
 Hi
This is my first attempt at a heavy bow... i dont think it would cope with a war situation, but maybe it would for a minor scuffle!!!

The bow is 73" ntn and pulls 72# @31" ....It has taken 1 3/4"ish set after 100+ shots ( 2"+ just after a good few shots, relaxing back to 1 3/4..1 1/2"

It was cut from a quite twisty 4" dia wytch elm  and required a lot of heat treating to straighten...Belly tempering has been a frustrating business, as it tends to take out the straightening I've put in.(If you know what I 'm saying?)..It needs a tempering badly, which I will give it, but it may cause problems?

Shot arrows  out to 178 yards today after a short testing session

Please hit me with the criticism...I can take it !

I have another stave which I aim for 100lb with.. I enjoy shooting this one though and I'm finding the draw weight easy

Unbraced

braced

tips

#

Full draw..32" shaft with bodkin ..

Cheers

Keith
« Last Edit: June 14, 2011, 12:59:33 am by keef »

Cacatch

Re: 72lb Wytch elm bow
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2011, 04:47:00 pm »
Your tiller looks perfect. Great job!  I'd be afraid to heat treat it very much. If you toast elm very much it starts to smell like popcorn and in my experiences gets brittle. I would heat it just til it gets hot to the touch but not really brown. I'd remove heat just before it begins to change color. Congratulations on a very fine bow!

CP

Offline keef

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2011, 06:19:10 pm »
 The wytch elm love4s a good toasting !...It really helps the compression..

just another f/d..sorry about the angle.. My good lady was standing on a log!!!

Keith

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2011, 08:05:30 pm »
very nice, love the whole thing, nice simple tips and sweet full draw