Author Topic: Take down Mullberry in progress  (Read 3181 times)

Offline Bow Nut

Take down Mullberry in progress
« on: June 30, 2011, 04:20:34 pm »
I made a great trade on here for some mullberry billets.  the are not fully cured yet but are getting close now that I have roughed it out close to final bow dimensions.  it measures 71 inches long right now the top limb is longer than the bottom but I am going to even them up and try to get a 66 inch bow out of it once fully cured.  The fades right now are 2 1/8 inches wide tapering down to 1 1/4 inches at the top plan on final size being 2 inches wide at fades with a pyramid style taper down to 1/2 inch or a little wider at the tips.  I hope to get 60 pounds out of it.  It has a few character knots to work around.  What do yall think I am fairly new to self bows and this is my first mulberry.  are my dimensions good for this wood considering it already has about 4 inches or more of back set and will probably take a bit more when fully cured?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2011, 04:25:03 pm by Bow Nut »

Offline toomanyknots

Re: Take down Mullberry in progress
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 04:25:17 pm »
Lookin nice and straight there. Love that mulberry.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."

- Tao Te Ching, 77, A new translation by Victor H. Mair

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 04:30:17 pm »
 The mulberry bows I've made have been layed out the way I do Osage. I go an 1 1/4, to a 1 1/2 at the fades then taper down to a 1/2' or smaller.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Bow Nut

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2011, 04:33:17 pm »