Author Topic: Who knows pine pitch!!!  (Read 5621 times)

Offline lowell

Who knows pine pitch!!!
« on: July 31, 2011, 08:52:00 pm »
It was very hot here today so what's better to do than make pine pitch?? :laugh:

This is my first attempt at making pitch.  I'll send a stick of what I made today to someone that makes, uses and know good pitch from bad.....ie.  %$##@  from shinola and tells me what I should do to make it better.  My main purpose for the pitch is hafting points on arrows. 

Would like an honest critique and not just "good job".  Can't imagine I made my first batch as good as it comes. :-\

I kind of followed directions from a post found on this site using pine tar, charcoal and beeswax.  Told my wife I made it just like the Indians did.....went in the house and printed off the directions from the site and came out to the deck and made some!! 8)

My son says I shoot a stick with a stick!!

Offline Bill Skinner

Re: Who knows pine pitch!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 11:31:07 pm »
What are the temps where you are?  If it is made right, it should be hard but you should be able to force your thumbnail into it.  If it sticks to your thumbnail, it was not cooked long enough to remove the volital oils or you have too much beeswax.  A little more charcoal will fix that, if it is brittle in the heat, you got it too hot or you have too much charcoal, a little beeswax will fix it.  While on the stick, it should feel smooth and not tacky or lumpy.  Tacky needs to be cooked longer, lumpy means you didn't grind your charcoal fine.  Bill

Offline seabass

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 11:43:01 pm »