Author Topic: where to find good wood.  (Read 2708 times)

Offline Andy Levy

where to find good wood.
« on: September 01, 2011, 04:34:58 pm »
After becoming interested in bow making this year and making my first english laminated war bows working from a tutorial dvd. Ive been reeding the Traditional bowyers bible and am now itching to start my first solid yew bow.
 I tort i found a length of yew suitable for the job. nice and srait and about 9" diameter. but when i cleaved it in half found it to have a quarter twist up the length of the log. so am now back to square one on sourcing the right wood.
 Im basically a novice asking around for advice on where to buy and source quality wood for bow making. and if there's anyone one willing to help teach a young, willing, wanabe bowyer.
Any and all advice on the subject would be most appreciated.

Offline fishfinder401

• noel laflamme noellaf2@cox.net
Re: where to find good wood.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2011, 04:47:42 pm »
the twist is no problem, for something like that,  you can make a steaming rig( to many different types to count) and once you take it out, put it in clamps, i know thats a very vague explanation so im sure somebody with more experience can elaborate. and if you don't want it, ill take it ;)
noel
Oyah, welcome to PA and what might be one of the most addicting pastimes ;D
warbows and fishing, what else is there to do?
modern technology only takes you so far, remove electricity and then what

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2011, 05:03:16 pm »
Welcome Andy. Like Noel said twist is not a problem. It is easily removed with heat. Some twist can be tolerated in a selfbow.
  Where are you located?  There might be other local woods you can get for free in your area.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2011, 08:10:34 pm »