Author Topic: Help with new bow  (Read 21778 times)

Offline iowabow

Help with new bow
« on: November 03, 2011, 10:38:56 am »
I am working on chasing rings on the wood and find the rings are forming a valley.  I took a photo and used a flashlight to help show the hill tops and valleys.  My question is will a u shaped back be a problem? Will I been doing something special to make this work.

« Last Edit: November 03, 2011, 10:50:45 am by iowabow »
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

Offline johnston

Re: Help with new bow
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2011, 11:02:47 am »
I have no ring chasing experience but I am reading Pappy's "Life is Good" thread which as you probably know is a chronicle of life at Twin Oaks.
Most pictured bows have the approximate shape of a roller coaster and are snakey when viewed in the vertical, horizontal, oblique and peripheral.
In fact, Pappy and the guys use all the straight wood for the cooking fire.

Your bow is just fine.

Lane

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 11:08:24 am »
Goodness gracious...how wide is that stave? That's pretty wide to be chasing a ring for one bow. I like to get my bow laid out rough front profile shaped before I chase my final ring so its less wood to remove and chase.

Back to your question some folks call and term this "riding the rails", because all your tension is on the sides of the bow. Depending on how severe it is,I've seen guys like Gary Davis fill them in with sinew to move the tension back over center of the bows back. I wood reduce your front profile first and then see how bad it is. A lil bit wont hurt it if its osage(which looks like it is)and you might be able to let it be. Its hard to tell from the pics how deep the valley is.

Offline iowabow

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2011, 11:20:22 am »