Author Topic: Forging A Knife  (Read 6738 times)

Offline amishfoot

Forging A Knife
« on: November 17, 2011, 05:10:28 pm »
Ok so the first try was a terrible failure  :( But, finally, I am staring this build along lol. This is my first build along and i lost some pictures:( but ill try and make due with the ones I have. Just ask if you have questions and ill try and answer. But, anyway this is just your basic build along about how to make a skinning/throwing anything you want knife.
The things I make may be for others, but how I make them is for me

Offline amishfoot

Re: Forging A Knife
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2011, 09:52:24 pm »
First, you want to start out with steel I like to use a 2" by 3/8" by about 9" or 10" piece of 1084 high carbon steel. Then, weld a piece of rebar to where you want the handle of your knife. Make it a very thick weld. The thicker the weld the less likely it will break off while you are hammering and it also eliminates the use of tongs. But, if your bar of steel is extra long the handle isn't needed and you can grab it with your hand.

Offline amishfoot

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2011, 10:00:01 pm »
Before you start hammering, you need to know the parts of the knife. I found this picture online and it is very good to find out what the parts are lol.

Offline amishfoot

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2011, 10:12:52 pm »
Now is where things start getting funky because I lost a lot of pictures that were too blurry to see what was going on. :'( But, first you want to start hammering from the edge to the spine making the rounded edge and the tip. Just do it as your personal preference or until your arm gets tired if you don't know lol ;D  Just make sure it is a nice rounded curve and there are minimal to zero dents in it. A very helpful tip I recieved from Burton himself of www.burtoncutlery.com is to flatten the knife as you go because it will smash and warp. This will help you a lot as you forge throughout this build along.