Author Topic: Snakey Osage Help!  (Read 2566 times)

Offline Stingray45

Snakey Osage Help!
« on: November 26, 2011, 10:00:47 pm »
Ok guys I need some advice from you bowyers out there, particularly those who have experience with osage or any other snakey type staves. I am fairly new to osage and I have never worked with a stave that had this type of snake to it. My question is this, should I use the "curl" as I will call it, as my arrow shelf area? This was originally a huge knot in the stave, I decided that I would be better off following the grain around the knot as you see here rather than incorporating the knot. The stave is 2" wide the entire length except the last few inches it drops down to about an inch and a half. So if I use the curl as the arrow shelf I'll end up with a stave that is 59-1/2" tip to tip. Or if I just let the curl exist in one of the limbs and make it work, I'll have a 66" bow tip to tip. I'd prefer to have the curl in one of the limbs but I'm not sure if that is going to be too much stress or if it should be fine?

Also with this, if I do leave it full length and have the curl in one of the limbs I was thinking of leaving the limbs a full 2" wide until I got past the curl and then tapering down from there in a pyramid style, down to 3/8" nocks. Does this sound feasible? Also what limb would you recommend I have the curl limb as? The bottom or the top? That is if the recommendation is to leave it full length. Thanks for the advice in advance.

~Barry
« Last Edit: November 26, 2011, 10:05:16 pm by Stingray45 »
Is there anything better than wandering the earth with a stick and string in your hand?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Snakey Osage Help!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 12:36:34 am »
Where does the rest of the knot in the swirl go?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Stingray45

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 03:05:59 am »
Hey Pat,