Author Topic: Need advice on a couple of old yew staves  (Read 5059 times)

Offline Weylin

Need advice on a couple of old yew staves
« on: December 09, 2011, 01:54:06 am »
My dad gave me 2 staves and a mostly worked bow from some yew that he cut 30 years ago in the california coastal range. The sapwood is fairly thick on them, (around a 1/2 inch). The worked bow has unfortunately lost alot of it's heartwood because of this but there is not much to be done about it at this point because it is close to target weight already. For the other 2 staves I wanted to explore my options for reducing the sapwood. Chasing a ring seems tough as it seems very hard to see the rings in the sapwood and I have no experience with chasing rings. I'm willing to give it a shot if that's the best method though. Could I just reduce the sapwood to a uniform thickness and back it with rawhide? Are there any other possibilities that I haven't considered? Here are some crappy pictures.  8)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Need advice on a couple of old yew staves
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2011, 02:56:15 am »
Thirty year old yew would be a pleasure to work with.  8)   You can reduce the sapwood and even violate the rings some with yew and still be OK. Backing with rawhide should give you complete confidence. I'm not an expert with yew but I believe you could take the sapwood down to about 1/4" to 3/8" thick and you will get a nice combo of sap/heart wood.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Shaun

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2011, 04:36:22 am »