Author Topic: How to identify Chert and Flint.....  (Read 24040 times)

TurtleCreek

How to identify Chert and Flint.....
« on: December 13, 2011, 06:03:10 am »
  I am a total newbie to knapping and will start pretty soon.  I hope to be able to collect my own rock and was wondering how I can identify chert and flint.  There are several locations near my home- rocky creeks/creek beds and areas that around here we call wash-outs which are basically large sandy slopes coming off hill sides that are loaded with all kinds of rock.  I have seen a bunch that appears to be like flint and chert but I would like to know how to positively identify the rock. Thanks

Offline Jimbob

Re: How to identify Chert and Flint.....
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2011, 06:49:02 am »
I was always told to pick one up and hit it, if it flakes its good.  another way is to tap it with another rock and if it sounds kinda like glass or has a "ring" to it.  You'll be able to tell the difference, a rock that isnt chert or a knappable one will sound dull when you tap it.  Watch paleomanjims video on finding flint, its helpfull.
You skin that smoke wagon and we'll see what happens!---Are you gonna do something? Or just stand there and bleed?

"Show me a man who will jump out of an airplane, and I'll show you a man who'll fight for his country."
Lt. General James Gavin

http://www.facebook.com/#!/jimmy.filidei

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2011, 09:16:19 am »
Hit it....pick up a hammerstone and whack it....lol...itll give you a conical fracture if its chert,and have a sharp edge to the flake and stone...youll know it and see what i mean when struck......this might help point you in some right directions on your area,and will give you some leads to go off of

http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/32979#.Tuc6i4m2U-U

TurtleCreek

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2011, 02:49:49 pm »