Author Topic: hunting points  (Read 3641 times)

Offline 65x55 swedis

hunting points
« on: January 02, 2012, 07:27:04 pm »
what do you guys like to use as hunting points? i am curious cause i am still new to knapping and looking to make some stone hunting points and was wondering what everyone here uses. really interested in seeing what you guys use

Offline Sparrow

• Who shot cock robin ? I said the sparrow.
    • Dream Fish Charters
Re: hunting points
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 10:16:54 pm »
Obsidian, Dacite, any stone that will flake a razor sharp edge  '  Frank
Frank (The Sparrow) Pataha, Washington

Offline Bill Skinner

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 10:22:57 pm »
I prefer the Texas cherts, they are tougher.  After that, I like unheat treated Buffalo River or some of the various Tennessee River valley cherts.  Kentucky Blue is also real good. 

Offline Will H

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2012, 10:29:09 pm »
I'm with Bill on this one :) But I've seen glass points that have successfully taken deer with very little damage to them. I think the most important thing is that you make them sharp.
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2012, 11:16:34 pm »
 I like Coral but have also seen Obsidian points slam some hogs with little or no damage. For me, as far as chipping a sharp point quick and easy I have to side with glass Dacite,or Obsidian.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Will H

« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2012, 11:20:32 pm »
Heres one I used this year to harvest a nice deer made from some TN Dover. Worked well and only nicked the tip as you can see.
           Clarksville, Tennessee

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2012, 12:26:31 pm »