Author Topic: new to arrow making  (Read 2156 times)

Offline blackpanem

new to arrow making
« on: January 18, 2012, 08:49:45 pm »
hello im new to arrow making and i have no idea what im doing is probably the easiest way to say it. im especially having trouble with shafts, i cannot get straight shafts no matter what, any advice? also what kind of wood should i be using? thanks

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: new to arrow making
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 09:36:13 pm »
What kind of shafts do you have? Most wood shafts can be straightened by hand or if  necessary a little heat too.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline SA

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2012, 12:38:10 am »
there is a really good build along on making arrows w/ lowes or home depot bamboo garden stakes you should check it out.
http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,28697.0.html
Shawn Acker

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2012, 12:51:30 am »
If ya got the high speed intranet, the Arrows Forum just broke the 100 page mark.  Got a lot of info @ your finger tips here.  Woo Hoo PA Arrows Forum!!  100 PAGES!!  Lots of different arrow possibilities out there, don't get to anal about it right off the bat, have ya some fun, learn and always try to improve.  ;) dpgratz
(:::.)    Osage music played daily. :)

Offline Scowler

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2012, 09:51:13 am »
Definitly check out the PA arrow forum.  That being said I find that Cedar shafts are the easiest to straighten for me.  I've used a Shaft Tamer and a flat surface (table, counter, etc...) for years with good results.  Just be patient, it may take awhile to perfect your shaft straightening skills.   

Offline Stefan

« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2012, 02:15:40 pm »