Author Topic: the lethality of stone points....  (Read 5831 times)

Offline billy

the lethality of stone points....
« on: August 02, 2007, 03:19:55 pm »
HEy ya'll,

I just wanted to post my own experience of using stone points here because I was afraid it would get lost in the other post.

I'm no expert on hunting with stone points (who is?), but I wanted to relate some of my experiences with stone points and how effective they can be. 

I've killed numerous small game animals with stone points and this spring I killed a 23 pound gobbler with a stone-tipped rivercane arrow.  That gobbler only ran 40 feet, then collapsed.  That's right, 40 feet.  Now, 2 weeks after I shot my turkey, my brother shot 2 gobblers with his $800 Mathews bow and carbon fiber arrows.  Both turkeys ran into the woods about 100 yards away.  One turkey was found the next morning, half-eaten by coyotes.  The other turkey was never found.   My brother then abandoned his bow and used his shotgun.  He shot at another gobbler, but it started running off so he started blasting at it in an attempt to stop him.  That turkey ran into the woods and, after searching for 2 hours, was never found.

This past November I was sitting in my stand and had a coyote stop 20 yards in front of me.  I shot at him, but missed.  My arrow hit a small tree and glanced off. When I went to retrieve my arrow, I was shocked at what that stone point did to the bark of the tree.  Although it was a glancing blow, the serrated edge of the stone point sliced down through the bark and into the very top layer of the wood.  The bark and wood fibers were splintered outward,  resembling the effect of a small caliber bullet.  Only the very tip of the stone point was dinged off.  I repaired the tip, resharpened the edge, and five months later that same stone point was used to kill my turkey.