Author Topic: 1840 Era Blackpowder Help  (Read 1898 times)

Offline Alpinbogen

1840 Era Blackpowder Help
« on: February 12, 2012, 02:13:09 am »
To a friend, I owe great gratitude in the form of a handmade powder horn and possibles bag.  Can anyone point me towards pictures, descriptions, or instructions of either?  It must be circa 1840 and I have to nail it.  Not ornate neccessarily, but period correct.  I have limited (one) powder horn experience, circa 100 years earlier, plus a possibles bag and many quivers.  I just know there's some nitpicky stuff in the BP re-enactor world that qualifies such things to fit...or not, and I need to get it right.

Offline stickbender

Re: 1840 Era Blackpowder Help
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 03:29:05 am »

You might try asking some of the Black Powder magazines about rules, and such, and descriptions, for that period.  I would not think that there would much difference in a Powder horn from the 1840's or the 1850's, or the 1700's, even with carving and scrimshaw, except for maps or period events embellished on it.  But I do not do reenacting, so I am just guessing.  I would think the same would be true with the possibles bag also.  But again I am not informed on that kind of rules, and requirements.  I am sure that any of the Black Powder shooting magazines would be able to inform you, or some of the reenacting groups and such.  To me a powder horn is pretty much a powder horn, and the same for the possibles bag, just the degree of embellishing of either.  But that is to me. ;)  There is always someone who has say " Well now we do have rules you know, and that horn has a fiddle peg for a stopper, and not a horn or antler stopper with built in powder scoop measure, and that brass filler acorn in the horn plug just isn't correct for this period, and that priming horn shouldn't have a spring loaded pouring tube!" ad nauseum! ::) :P