Author Topic: brand new at this.  (Read 5492 times)

Offline mitchman

brand new at this.
« on: August 10, 2007, 11:49:18 pm »
i have been making bows out of saplings for like 7 years now and im fifteen.i do it on vacation with saplings and roots for bowstrings. but i found the primitive archer magazine at the book store and thought. sweet. i love this stuff. so now i am getting fairly good at making arrowheads. still need the right tools and stuff. but i am i need of some help from the pros. im still on vacation but when i get back i would like to make a self bow. i don,t need a first bow that can kill a deer. but i would like to take it squirrelin or coonin. you know just something to get me up on my feet in this kool hobby. i was wondering what would i should use, and if i could go out and buy a plank from the lumber store and use that as long as its not pressure treated. i own a bandsaw and am pretty good at wood working.

so you think you can help me? :D

thanks
     Mitch

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: brand new at this.
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2007, 12:47:26 am »
I see no reason why you cant make a first bow that will kill a deer.  Why not shoot for deer hunting weight and if it comes in light, it is no big deal.  Where are you from and what kind of trees do you have? 
Check out George's site        http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/archer.html 
or Mickey's site     http://groups.msn.com/ferretsarcherywebpage/buildingbowsfromboards.msnw
They both have great reading on building all kinds of bows, both from boards and staves.   Also hang out here and ask all the questions you can think of.  We are glad to help.  If you can post pictures as you go, you can get a lot better help.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2007, 08:31:04 am »
Thanks, Justin. Jawge
Set Happens!