Author Topic: Complete noob asking dumb questions  (Read 8141 times)

Mohawk

Complete noob asking dumb questions
« on: August 12, 2007, 03:35:13 am »
Hello, I just joined up, and I have to say, you guys have the right idea - we have forgotten so much knowledge, and you guys are reclaiming it! Sure I could go buy a sweet $600 compound bow with slick aluminum arrows for my first deer kill, or i could make my own bow, like countless generations of my ancestors before me, from my natural surroundings. I think we all know the clear choice here.

So, I have never deer hunted before, but this year I am going.  (dont worry, my expectations arent high, i know making my own bow and taking a deer first time are pretty high goals - but it seems like the damn deer are getting to be tamer and more numerous than peoples dogs, so i figger its time to help thin the herd, and pad my midsection).  I am going to make a hickory or perhaps an oak selfbow.  Any suggestions which would be better?Also, I have some questions about tools:

making a tiller stick seems easy enough, but I have a question on draw weight; how do you determine this? is there some sort of scale or pulley or something? where do i get one?

Thanks guys, I love this forum.

Offline DanaM

Re: Complete noob asking dumb questions
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 04:43:04 am »
Wecome to primitive archery Mohawk. Either hickory or oak will make a bow, as for a tillering stick they work but
I'd recommend a tillering tree with a rope and pulley so that your safely out of harms way. You can buy a scale from
3 Rivers Archery just Google them. Also I would buy Traditional Bowyers Bible Vol 1 for starters , Paul Comstocks book "The
Bent Stick" is also excellent and reasonably priced. Remember to go slow and take yer time, patience comes in handy which you
will also need for hunting. Good luck and don't hesitate to ask for help and post pics if ya can.