Author Topic: Birch Bark Fletching?  (Read 3242 times)

Offline bushman

Birch Bark Fletching?
« on: February 16, 2012, 03:46:48 am »
Has anyone ever tried to use the bark from a Paper Birch for fletching? Or would that be as smart as using razor blades for fletching? Since paper can cut you I don’t know if a thin sheet of birch bark traveling at 100 fps or more going across your hand would be a good idea or not. I have been thinking about it lately, it would be easy to wet form it to the shaft then let it shrink tight to it. But it would be stiffer then feathers. A plus is it would be water proof for a while and wont mat like a feather. Any thoughts? Thanks.
Bushman

Offline Matt G.

Re: Birch Bark Fletching?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2012, 08:56:46 am »
I have no experience with it but it seams to me that if it is that rigid ghent it wouldn't lay down when hits your hand or self and would cause the arrow to kick. Be the same as using a plastic vane off the self. If you have issues with feathers getting matted from rain try using turkey primaries or goose feathers for fletching. Like I said no experience here with it so I could be wrong.
Keeping the Faith!
Matt

Offline Dazv

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2012, 05:36:55 pm »
I have made a couple i find that birch bark fletchings don't have a very long life( a few shots at most). I find that it works pretty well for dutch arrows though.

Offline bushman

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2012, 02:45:26 am »
Ok thanks for the replies. I was thinking if you just needed to make a few arrows in the bush that it might work. What type of arrows are dutch arrows, Dazv? Thanks
Bushman

Offline stickbender

« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2012, 05:36:43 pm »
Ok thanks for the replies. I was thinking if you just needed to make a few arrows in the bush that it might work. What type of arrows are dutch arrows, Dazv? Thanks
Bushman
  Yeah, what he said?  Dutch arrows??? ??? ???

Wayne

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator