Author Topic: new to bowmaking, question on osage, locust, ash  (Read 5189 times)

Offline richpierce

new to bowmaking, question on osage, locust, ash
« on: July 17, 2007, 03:35:00 pm »
Hello, I am new to primitive archery but have good woodworking skills (felling, splitting, working down with drawknife, spokeshaves, scrapers etc).  I am excited to get started.

I have:
A locust pole 6" in diameter and about 7' tall, straight, cut this spring, I think.  I debarked it and painted it and it's not checking.
A hickory stave 6' tall cut last fall, quartered, seasoned over the winter
An ash stave 6' tall cut 2 years ago, quartered
A found osage orange log- seasoned, not much checking visible, 7 feet long, 6" on one end, 4" on the other. Rings like a bell.

I'm going to order the Traditional Bowyer's Bible volumes 1-3- seems to be what folks are recommending.

Which piece of wood should be selected for my first bow?  The hickory, locust, or ash?  Is it crazy to work on more than one at a time?

Offline DanaM

Re: new to bowmaking, question on osage, locust, ash
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2007, 03:46:44 pm »
First get the TBB books and read up, make a tillering tree and get yer tools all set.
I would start with the ash or hickory, as you don't have to chase a ring on these. The wood under the bark is
the back of the bow. Save the osage and locust for a later bow when you have some experience.
Remember to take yer time patience is necessary. If you get stuck ask someone will help you and pictures are appreciated.
Welcome to the community ;D
A subscription to PA is also recommended.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 04:57:47 pm »