Author Topic: I've come to the conclusion...  (Read 7879 times)

Offline possum

I've come to the conclusion...
« on: September 06, 2007, 09:13:59 pm »
... my arrow making abilities suck! :'(  Or at least they did. ;D  I started getting serious when my arrows wouldn't go where I aimed.  They went in the general area (same zip code) but nothing consistent.  I started tweaking the length with whatever spine the bamboo spined.  I added bird shot in the heads of arrows too short, shortened 1/4" here, 1/2" here to the long ones, etc...  But the biggest problem I noticed is that the arrows I did last year had fletching that was just HORRIBLE!!  I'm ashamed to even say I did it.  I started shooting the new ones today and WOW!!!  I'm a better shot than I thought.

Moral of this story is:
Check your arrows before the hunt.  Tied on fletching can and will move around and it causes funky arrow flight.

possum

ps I know we all know this but this is just a reminder in case we overlook the basics.
"To ensure peace, security, and happiness, the rifle and pistol are equally indispensable. The very atmosphere of firearms everywhere restrains evil interference - they deserve a place of honor with all that is good." George Washington

mebane NC

jamie

Re: I've come to the conclusion...
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 09:50:00 pm »
dude im a firm believer that any bent stick is a bow. the arrow is where the art is.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 10:05:47 pm »
Ya'll are scarin me  :-[ :-\

When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 10:11:52 pm »
dude im a firm believer that any bent stick is a bow. the arrow is where the art is.
WHAT?? Actually without the arrow, its just a fancy rabbit stick.  :o Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

bikermikearchery