Author Topic: "slewing" arrows  (Read 7578 times)

Offline Knocker

• Tumwater, Washington
"slewing" arrows
« on: September 21, 2007, 01:52:48 am »
Let me preface this by saying I am a newbie.  I made my first Osage bow a couple of months ago.  It is 55lb at 28".  I had some custom cedar arrows made, and have been pleased with how the setup is shooting.  I think Joe said the new arrows splined at 60lb?  I noticed today that a lot of the arrows end up where I want them, but slew around, back and forth before hitting the target.  Is this drifting around because of spline weight?  Or am I just noticing normal flight now that I am becoming more used to shooting?

Thanks,
Keith
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude
better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from
us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down
and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set
lightly upon you, and may posterity forget ...

Offline Knocker

• Tumwater, Washington
Re: "slewing" arrows
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 01:57:35 am »
And also, the knocks seem to be tearing up the serving on my string.  Should I sand the inside of the slot on the plastic knocks before I re-serve the string?  I like the positive feel for staying on, but don't want to wear out my string. 

Don't worry, at some point I will be making primitive arrows with hardwood slots for knocks...   ;D

Keith

Offline butch

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 02:57:44 am »
you got good eyes or slow arrows. mine may slew some but only with good light. a little paradox is normal.  boy, two months on the job and all of a sudden im an expert.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 08:50:36 am »