Author Topic: can i ask a dumb question?  (Read 7952 times)

Offline anasazi

can i ask a dumb question?
« on: September 15, 2012, 02:36:02 am »
I am still a little new at this but where do you all measure your draw length from? Some people have told me its from the back of the bow others say from the belly i have been thinking it would be from where the webbing between thumb and for finger are since that distance doesn't change from bow to  bow what's your thought.

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: can i ask a dumb question?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2012, 02:40:43 am »
somewhere on the hand would make sense now wouldn't it? so i guess the webbing or even the knuckle would work. GL
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline Weylin

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2012, 03:11:02 am »
My understanding is that you measure from the back of the bow to the inside of the arrow nock. I was taught to measure by putting a clothes pin on an arrow and drawing the bow so that the arrow bumps into the back of the bow and slides down the arrow as you draw. When you take the arrow off you can measure from the clothes pin to the arrow nock.

1Brotherbill

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2012, 03:13:20 am »
This may be a dumb answer to the dumb question.  But I would measure to the back of the bow.  If it is anything shorter and you might have a tough time shooting arrows with broadheads on them. 

Offline anasazi

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2012, 03:25:25 am »
Thanks i was wondering where others  measured from. I never could find a answer any where

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2012, 03:27:33 am »