Author Topic: can't hit nothin  (Read 6734 times)

Offline JustJake

can't hit nothin
« on: October 06, 2012, 08:06:30 pm »
Hi,
I have been shooting/hunting with a recurve for many years now.  While I love it, I can not seem to get consistant with my shooting.  I am almost always on target left and right, but am constantly shooting over the back of the target(or deer).  I am getting frustrated to the point of not enjoying it anymore.  I am a self taught shooter and was hoping their might be a club or individual in the south east Wisconsin area (Madison to Milwaukee) that I could get together with to do some shooting and maybe get me pointed in the right direction. (No pun intended).  I would greatly appreciate any help I can get. 

Thanks, Jake   

Offline Newindian

Re: can't hit nothin
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2012, 10:54:27 pm »
A lot of that is probably form but we can't tell with out seeing, there are twelve thousand little things that come out to a big difference, for the most part just try to do the Same thing every time you shoot. As for when your hunting and " shooting over deer" , a deer will crouch down when it hears the sound of a bow shot try to aim where they will be
I like free stuff.

Offline jeffhalfrack

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 12:12:24 am »
JJ  hang in there   what is  your set up  arrows tip weight?  Give us the numbers, just to see that the  tackle is close, then lets talk  shot sequence kinda like a big league pitcher?  Are you split finger  or three under?  Next and  this will  cause a bunch of debate  ,,,,lets  tape  a temporary sitght pin to the bow!   Just   remember in  the  sixtys lots of  hunters  had sight pins  before  they knew  they were suposed to be trad!! And  all  those  trad  vintage bows on  flea-bay  got those sight pin  holes  drilled in them long  before they  were trad!  We'll figure this out!   JeffW

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2012, 01:54:48 am »