Author Topic: attempt at making trade points from a skill saw blade  (Read 10778 times)

Offline soy

• pm106221
attempt at making trade points from a skill saw blade
« on: October 12, 2012, 02:27:09 am »
As you will soon see  I have no experience with metal fab! this is kind of a build a long not a how to because it would be doing it the hard way so keep your chuckles to a minimum and look at the pictures

Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline soy

• pm106221
Re: attempt at making trade points from a skill saw blade
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 02:30:15 am »

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 02:32:52 am »

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2012, 02:28:31 pm »
If you use a cold chissel and hammer to score lines you can put the metal in a vise and bend at the scored line and it will snap in two. Less grinding that way. But your points look great.
Steve Bennett

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2012, 04:21:20 pm »
I tried that first... I had an established line with the chisel but could not get it to snap this bent it :( so I went ahead and try the plasma cutter( first timer ::) ) but I will definitely give that a try again with a chisel next time cause grinding does stink ;)

Offline RBLusthaus

« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 07:09:07 pm »
I have never tried it, but I have been told that the metal cutting wheels for the dremmel make short work of cutting up the circ saw blade. 

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 09:59:15 pm »
I have never tried it, but I have been told that the metal cutting wheels for the dremmel make short work of cutting up the circ saw blade. 

I tried the dremel cutting wheels and they worked ok exept they break real  easy.
Steve Bennett

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2012, 10:01:31 pm »
I like your points.  How did you sharpen them?