Author Topic: abo really is very different than copper  (Read 3548 times)

Offline iowabow

abo really is very different than copper
« on: October 26, 2012, 09:46:52 am »
I have been working abo for close to a year. I really feel like I have overcome addiction abuse feelings I had when I stopped using copper. The biggest difference is mostly pressure flaking work. I work  above the center line and at an angle 90% of the time. I am still learning to thin the biface more effectivly. So I would have to say the bopper work is the hardest to learn. It seems the technique changes as the work becomes more flat and is very difficult to explain. I have almost stopped abrading completly which is really cool because I dont like jumping back all the time. Just thought I would share some thoughts with fellow ABO-ers. Enjoy the pionts.
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

Offline Sambone

• Sam King
Re: abo really is very different than copper
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2012, 10:38:55 am »
Very nice looking points. I'm just learning all this and I use ABO tools. My biggest problem is thinning.
" The self is not something ready made, but something in continuous formation through choice of action." (John Dewey)

Peachtree City, Georgia

Offline jamie

• born again pagan ,dirt worshipping heathen
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2012, 10:46:22 am »
great work john. not abrading is definetly a plus. was helping a friend who uses copper and realized how much it sucked to constantly abrade
"Man is a tool-using animal. Without tools he is nothing, with tools he is all."

waterbury, ct

Offline iowabow

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2012, 10:46:57 am »
Ya thinning with antler is very hard for me. I think real hard before hitting.

Scott if you read this the point to the left on the table is from stone we got in your area.

Offline Trapper Rob

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2012, 12:47:54 pm »
Nice points.
Rob

Stringman

« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2012, 11:27:00 pm »