Author Topic: Newbie needs help  (Read 3603 times)

Offline Winchester

Newbie needs help
« on: October 28, 2012, 09:33:15 am »
Hey all! I am in the middle of making my first bow and need some help (bet you havn't heard that before lol!) I have been getting a lot of help from a gent who suggested this forum, glad he did.
My bow is Oak board 72" and tapered down to 1 1/2" wide where the handle will go. Now I have been doing alot of creeping around the net and have found a number of people use a number of different measurements, especially when it comes to the handle on an Oak board bow. I was going to glue on a 10" long riser but to me that seems very long. 5" long looks about right to me but my opinion has no bearing as I've never done this before lol.

I was going to glue a 10" long 1/2 inch thick Maple riser to the back of the bow and a 2 1/2" Maple riser to the front then carve the handle out. Should I use a riser at the back as well as the front? and is 10" too long? Also wondering when I tiller down the bow do I keep it the same width all the way to the tips? (tips are 1/2") My understanding is that the tips should not bend for the first 1 1/2"? I would like it to be about 50# draw

Offline Winchester

Re: Newbie needs help
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 09:39:42 am »
Sorry, one more question... when I cut out the arrow notch how far should it be from the dead center of the bow?

Offline aaron

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 10:48:21 pm »
Most board bows have a riser on the belly side only.
your riser length should probably be somewhere between 5 and 10 inches- Your bow is plenty long,, so if the riser is "too long" creating a stiff section , you will still have plenty of wood bending.( This depends somewhat on drawlength- I'm assuming you're drawing to about 28.)