Author Topic: Feathers  (Read 5102 times)

Offline iowabow

Feathers
« on: December 03, 2012, 10:47:42 am »
I have started stripping wrapping rather than cutting, grinding, and hide gluing. Is it me or is this just much faster?
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

Offline richardzane

• active Wyandot tribal member
    • richardzanesmith.wordpress.com
Re: Feathers
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 11:35:50 am »
I'll be interested in what people have to share.
I've been stripping them as well, but experimenting using only sinew at the ends and hide glue and NOT the wrap.
the hide glue works fine using the leather washer with the three slits as a clamp to glue a little at a time
BUT  my problem is because they are getting pinched by the washer ...the fletchings tend to warp from side to side, don't lay straight.

side note:
Noticed you are interested in primitive pottery? We might consider starting a thread on that again.
ive been making coiled pots for almost 30 years - being our only income, and have learned a few things.lead some workshops with tribal members.
I use "Okie" clays dug and process myself, you can check out my website if you care to.
when i'm working on things my ancestors worked, singing the songs my ancestors sang, dancing the same dances, speaking the same language, only then  I feel connected to the land, THIS land, where my ancestors walked for thousands of years...

Offline iowabow

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 01:41:47 pm »
very cool on the clay pots I have been trying to get this clay to work that we have in iowa. I have had a little sucess but still having some problems. I am sure it is the clay and not the other parts of the process because I can do it with other clay bodies. I will send you a PM and maybe we can talk on the phone.