Author Topic: Advice required regarding some yew...  (Read 7514 times)

Offline WillS

Advice required regarding some yew...
« on: January 18, 2013, 10:03:58 am »
Hey guys,

I picked up this piece of English yew which looked stunning before I split it... but it has a really bad corkscrew twist down it's length.  It's 72" long, and about 4" wide.  I cannot work out how to get anything out of it, as the twist is so extreme that one end will just be all heartwood if I keep it as it is.  I have very little experience with steam-treating propellor twist, so probably wouldn't feel comfortable using steam to correct this - plus I just don't know how to cut a bow shape out of a piece like this anyway.

The other problem is that on the end that is twisted, the wood has split into a fork.  Running a string line down the back shows that a fairly clean profile could be made with a small amount of twist, but one tip would be smack in the middle of this fork, and the heartwood/sapwood does really odd things here.   

Any advice, or just info on what you would do with this would be great!  ideally I'd like to try and get an ELB type out of this.

This is the fork at the bottom.  Don't particularly want to chop off any extra length if avoidable?

blackhawk

Re: Advice required regarding some yew...
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 10:37:29 am »
That doesn't look to awful and unworkable....if your not ready for it then set it aside and build your skills up more until your ready to tackle it. Layout is easy....just layout a bow along the back following the grain and twist...you don't layout a bow continuing straight thru the twist....like I said set it aside till your ready if it looks too daunting to you.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 10:37:57 am »