Author Topic: Why does my jointer cut a taper for first couple inches of infeed?  (Read 9508 times)

Offline toomanyknots

I picked up a cheap craftsman jointer from a pawn shop recently, to plain laminates to get them ready for glue up. Now I have never used a jointer before, so I am sure that the problems I have been having are completely my fault. The blades are pretty darn close to flush with the outfeed, although I am not super sure they should be anyhow though. The manual says that they should be the height of a piece of paper higher than the outfeed, and I have no idea how to measure that or get that right. One guy on youtube said that the blades should move a straight edge about a 1/8" to a 1/4" when you turn the blades with a straight edge on the outfeed. I tried that, and ending up getting snipe on the end of what I was plaining. The manual says that they should "tick" the straight edge, so I reset them flush, and I am pretty sure I got them tickin. Setting them flush with the outfeed, which I have heard other people say is the correct height, has got rid of the snipe, but my problem now is that the first couple inches of whatever I am plaining is tapered pretty dramatically. The rest of the length seems to be ok, without any tail end snipe. My outfeed and infeed are as close to coplainer as I have been able to check. When I feed the piece through, I try my best to push on mostly the outfeed, as I read that is good technique. Also, another thing, I don't know what could cause this, but sometimes it randomly sounds like it is "shifting gears", sorta. Like it will restart almost. Kinda weird. I got a 30 day warranty on it, so I am considering returning if I cannot get it working for me. Oh yeah, forgot, the fence is slightly warped. My square will read 90 at both ends, but them more than 90 in the middle? It seems like this would not be that big of a deal, since I really don't plan to joint anything with it, and simply plan to use it to face plane. Any ideas