Author Topic: From East Central Florida  (Read 4667 times)

Offline PrimitiveTim

From East Central Florida
« on: January 21, 2013, 09:27:40 pm »
Hey y'all I'm from the coast of Florida about midway on the peninsula.  I'm 22 and I've always been interested in the natural world.  It started off with reptiles, then branched off into other animals, then plants, then foraging, and now bow making.

I didn't want to join the forum until I actually made something that shoots so I could be bringing some experience to the forum.  However, I have very little archery experience.  When I was a kid we made palm frond bows and I've shot a few compounds here and there.  My ultimate goal in primitive archery is to harvest a wild pig with all primitive equipment. 

I've made two attempts at full size bows and I've been scaring the squirrels in my yard this evening with my latest one.  The first one I tried was from a pop ash limb from the back of my family's land.  It was a real nice piece of wood and I didn't have to mess with the back at all.  I was so paranoid about making the draw weight too low that I went way too slow.  While I was still floor tillering it a splinter popped out of the back due to too much curvature in one section of the bow.  I may go back and attempt a repair later.  My second one that I've been shooting came from a crepe myrtle stave.  This one went way quicker!  I left the bark on and had it shooting in only a few weeks.  It's got some twist in the limb so the string isn't in the center but it still shoots pretty accurately so I'll shoot it until some of my other staves dry in the Spring.