Author Topic: suggestions on hing repair needed.  (Read 3131 times)

Offline 4giveme

suggestions on hing repair needed.
« on: March 30, 2013, 08:59:25 am »
Hi all,
I am new to bowyering, I have a been working and a bow that is 43" long, sinew backed made from a osage stave. this is my 1st bow and got a little careless with the rasp when i was shaping the stave.I remember reading somewhere that if you add flax or something like that to the belly it will help strengthen the limb and repair the hing.
Does anyone know how to do this with adding material to the belly, or another method besides weakening the other parts of the limb to match the hing.
Right now the bow pulls 39# @ 28". i really don't want to lighten the bow any more.
Thanks
4giveme
God bless and thanks,
Tommy

"There are only two things we can't change, yesterday and tomorrow. So let's live in the moment and make the best choices we can right now."

Unknown author.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: suggestions on hing repair needed.
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 09:15:08 am »
Where is there a hinge?
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline dbb

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 09:25:05 am »
I dont see a hinge either,just a bit soft out of the upper fade making the tiller uneven
It's better to ask and look like a fool than not to ask and remain one...

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 09:28:44 am »
It is hinged like crazy about 5" above the hand, top limb. No way to fix this that I know of without turning your bow into a kiddie bow.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 09:56:51 am by Eric Krewson »

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2013, 09:49:26 am »
+1 Eric.  Hard to see with the bad quality pic and the angle.  Get another pic up, outside with the bow at at 90 degrees from the camera.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.