Author Topic: hide  (Read 4588 times)

Offline butch

hide
« on: November 09, 2007, 08:25:09 am »
i soacked my hides in lye and scraped , worked good except some small patches. tacked it down , scraped , then added draino to get rid of some stubborn patches of hair and cartilledge. worked fair, they were translucent, when rinceing they shrunk and thickend. is this normal. how do i strech them to original shape, incidently, i wore rubber gloves but my urine had a strong smell af hydrocloric acid this morning. should i be concerned. thanks.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: hide
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 10:51:57 am »
I'm no expert but sounds like you might have not diluted your draino enough and burned the hide a little. I'd stretch it on a frame and let dry, don't think their's any real harm done. On the urine thing, hmm, well, I dunno, hehe :D.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

jamie

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2007, 12:52:51 pm »
you need to rinse the hide in an acid solution (vinegar) to nutrilize the base solution (lye) .

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2007, 05:27:11 pm »
    Wouldn't you need to rinse it in Baking Soda?Lye,or Drano is a caustic acid.But rinsing in clean water should dilute it enough,anyway.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

jamie

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2007, 05:51:59 pm »
lye is actually a caustic base and vinegar being and acid will nuetralize the lye. i have a formula ive been trying to dig up. its so much water and so much vinegar in a bucket. when i find it i'll post it. peace

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2007, 07:16:41 pm »
 Sorry,got that one backwards.I thought lye was an acid.
Lakeland, Florida

Offline DanaM

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2007, 08:06:48 pm »